JeJu

The Giant Poach

In food on 04/20/2009 at 6:03 pm

I’d never had a poached egg until last year. I grew up eating fried eggs. The best were in bento boxes we’d buy for train rides that came with sour preserved vegetables and braised minced pork on rice or the ones Mother packed in my daily school lunches. I liked the crispy whites and soft gooey yolk oozing onto the rice.

When I first went to a greasy spoon diner, I switched to over easy, then sunny side eggs and took to dipping my toast points into the thick yellow yolk goo. They make a good egg at Tom’s Restaurant of Seinfeld fame. And their thick breakfast sausages are unmatched. The All-American breakfast, eggs, sausage, hash browns and toast is one of the best culinary concotions ever.

For the past two years we’ve been dealing with an electric stove, my first. The one in the apartment upstairs was not level, so things were never evenly cooked. Now the one down here is fine, but there’s no exhaust for my high-frying cooking, so things get smoky quickly and the smells linger in my clothes.

Last Christmas we bought Mother a silicone egg poaching cup. The other half said she enjoyed a 3 minute poached egg as well, and one day made it for me. It’s basically like a sunnyside egg, but without the grease and timing issues with the yolk getting too hard but the white not setting up yet. You just scoop it out with a slotted spoon.

Then I kicked it up a notch by putting the egg on a toasted bagel, drizzled it with truffle oil and dusting it with fresh cracked black pepper and black Hawaiian sea salt from Trader Joe’s that they no longer carry. I call it egg butter, the runny yolk that drips onto the plate and is great for sopping up with the last bites of bagel.  This is one of our reliable go-to dishes morning, noon and night. Serve it with a schmear of goat cheese or a side of watercress salad. Awesome.

leggo my eggo

  1. This blog’s where its happenning. Keep up the good work.

  2. i love poached eggs! I want to put them all over my face! Foreal. Kinda. Only kinda. Maybe just on toast.

  3. Love this blog I’ll be back when I have more time.

Leave a Reply

