JeJu

We Three Kings

In food on 06/02/2009 at 8:54 am

For a co-worker’s birthday in Texas almost a decade ago, I made Tres Leches Cake. I don’t know what spurred me to do it, but I found a recipe in the local paper. It was one of the first cakes I made, since I’m not much into baking. I didn’t have proper equipment, just whatever was leftover at the house I was staying.

Originally I had wanted to make cupcakes, but the soaking liquid rendered the paper sopping wet, so I ended up peeling all the paper off and stacking the cakes. Then I decided to make whipped cream by hand. That was when I started my masochistic tradition of seeing how quickly I could whip heavy cream with a fork to stiff peaks without stopping. Sometimes I had a metal bowl, sometimes not. At last go, I had it down to 7 minutes.

For the graduation party, the other half had a go at my torn out recipe. It turned out to be a little too mushy in the middle, but if you like pudding (which I don’t!), it’s a good thing. It definitely stays moist. I cut down the amount of evaporated milk for the recipe below. This is definitely not a cake for lactose intolerant folk. But for people like the other half’s Brother who drinks a gallon and a half whole milk a week, it’s just the thing. You can make it the day before and refrigerate it. Bring it to room temperature before consumption.

Ingredients:
Cake
1 cup sugar
5 eggs, separated
1/3 cup milk
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp cream of tartar
Milk Syrup
1 cup evaporated milk
1 cup condensed milk (alt: cream of coconut)
1 cup heavy cream
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 Tbsp rum

For cake: Preheat oven 350°F.

Beat 3/4 cup sugar and egg yolks until light and fluffy. Stir in mlk, vanilla, flour and baking powder.

Beat egg whites to soft peaks, add cream of tartar after 20 seconds. Gradually add remaining 1/4 cup sugar and beat until whites are glossy and firm.

Gently fold whites into yolk mix. Spoon batter into buttered 9″X 9″baking dish.

Bake cake 30min or until firm and toothpick comes out clean. Cool cake and unmold on large platter.

Pierce cake all over with fork. Prepare milk syrup by mixing all ingredients. Slowly pour over cake until all absorbed. To prevent making a mess, do it in stages.

Serve like a spoonbread with fresh whipped cream.

puddin'head

Leave a Reply

