JeJu

Besan Burfi *excuse me*

In food on 08/17/2011 at 11:16 am

In the white-washed world of the Hamptons, the hospital I work at is the United Nations. We bring the minority quota. My boss is all about diversity. Even Mister Gamey, the ever-diplomate, says he feels uncomfortable here (until he ate the BBQ, that is). I just find it frustrating as hell to not be able to get my Asian groceries and treats.

Bhangra Master to the rescue! There was some Hindi holiday over the weekend and she brought Indian sweets for me to sample. Now beggars can’t be choosers but I knew there was something about the faux Tootsie Roll with the green center I didn’t like: it’s made with cashews.

The square fudge-looking thing with a halvah grainy texture, on the other hand, is quite tasty. It reminds me of ethnic shortbread. The texture is crumbly, like smooth fine sand. It’s not too sweet as many South Asian desserts I’ve tried on Roosevelt Ave, and it is enough like Macao pastry that I find it comforting to my soul. The best thing is, without a kitchen, I can still make it on the Waring Pro electric burner I just bought!

Adapted from Indobase

Ingredients:
1 cup Besan (chickpea flour or other assorted rough grain)
1 cup Sugar (insert palm sugar here for marvelous caramel flavor)
1/2 cup Ghee (no ghee in the Hamptons, good ol’ butter should do)
1/2 tsp Cardamom Powder
1/2 tsp Cinnamon
Nuts (I like Brazil nuts)

1. Toast flour in pot until fragrant. It’ll give the sweet a nutty aroma and taste.

2. Add ghee. Mix till smooth. Add sugar and nuts.

3. Remove from heat and stir in cardamom and cinnamon powder.

4. Oil a large tray.

5. Pour the mixture and spread.

6. Allow the mixture to set. Cut into small squares or diamonds and serve.

Leave a Reply

